Roasted Roots

30 Nov
ANY kind of winter root (potatoes, carrots, parsnips, beets, turnips, rutabagas, garlic, celeriac)
Try roots that you don’t like otherwise – you may love them like this. My daughter will eat a whole plate of beets cooked this way.
 
Wash (I don’t peel) and then cut up roots. I like thin slices, other people like little chunks.  Oil or butter a big cookie tray and put the roots on the tray – pour on some more oil and some salt.  The roots shrink when they are baked, so put a lot on the tray. I usually do 2 trays worth at a time because they get eaten so fast!
 
Bake at 350 and turn the roots every once in a while to ensure even cooking and to spread the oil around.  They are done when they are soft, but I like to leave them in so that they caramelize a bit.
One Response to “Roasted Roots”

  1. galfrend July 27, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    This sounds like a great recipe! I can’t wait to try it this winter on all the rutabagas I’m growing. Thanks for posting it. Roots are easy to grow but difficult to cook in a manner that people want to eat them.

    I’ll poke around your blog for more winter root recipes, but if you want to help by just pointing to me to more recipes, I’d love it. I need recipes for rutabagas and beets. I’ve got potatoes, too, but there are millions of ways to make them tasty!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

